April 18, 2013

  • So this is kind of funny:

    Recently, I started reading Steinbeck’s East of Eden, which is a lovely, but a hopelessly serious story.

     

    I love it, it’s beautiful, poetic, and it’s long.  

    But since hearing about all the craziness in the world after coming back into town,
    I decided to put away the Steinbeck for a few weeks and resume reading the fourth Harry Potter book (The Goblet of Fire) on my Nook.  

    It’s nice to be able to leave the present world and to escape into a book that has almost nothing to do with my life at this present time. 
    The Harry Potter books have been a source of comfort for me since I started reading them, and whenever I feel stressed or overwhelmed, I open one up and read on.  

    My favorite Harry Potter book by far is The Prisoner of Azkaban.  

    It’s kind of trivial what a person does while on their way into work. 
    I’m lucky enough to be able to make my commute via Lightrail to Downtown in the mornings. 
    And I seriously love it, even if it takes a bit longer that driving.  

    Lately, I’ve been combining reading the Harry Potter book, sketching in my super nice new green Pentalic sketchbook and listening to some tunes on my iPod Shuffle. 
    I do find it funny when I’ll literally be too distracted by my thoughts to read or draw, and I simple resort to listening to music, watching out the window. 
    I was thinking the other day, that I totally take my amazing mind for granted. 
    I have this weird new obsession with thinking about things in and out of context and designing worlds which I build up and save in order to return to later to build them some more. 

    It’s like having a temple in my mind (haha, like Hannibal Lecter does in the books)  

    It’s nice to escape from people into my mind.   I always think that I prefer my time either sleeping or thinking, staring off at something that isn’t there.  
    I have also come to the realization that I am neither an “early bird” or a “night owl”.  I just… really love sleeping all around.  Does that make me a… dead day bird?

     

    Anyhoo, on a completely different topic, it’s snowing outside and I am crestfallen.  For I have made an effort to wear my most spring-like scarf today in hopes of 
    ushering in some Spring weather vibes.  Like a rain dance around my neck.  How disappointing for today. 

     

    More later :)

     

    M

     

     

Comments (5)

  • pretty soon these increasingly anxious trees are gonna force it to be spring. though there have been years when this spring’s long delay would have depressed me more, i’ll be happy when the sun and the warmth return.

    enjoyed the post. thanks, mary. :)

  • It’s nice to be able to switch between books like you’ve done with that first book and Harry Potter.

    Hope nicer weather comes your way soon!

  • @destinationmoderation -  I love that kind of freedom! Because damnit, if I want to escape to an idealistic magical world to escape my own, I will. And thanks for the good weather wishes! It’s currently snowing again, so all I can do is sit at my desk and sip hot coco to feel better ;)

  • i’ve never seen a harry potter movie. am i missing out?

  • @UR_MUSE - 
    Really!? That’s… actually kind of amazing. But if you’re not into the movies, you’re not missing much. They’re good, but they leave out a lot.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *