May 2, 2013

  • Random!

     

    So you know how, for example, when you get a new car, you suddenly start seeing more and more of the same car while out driving?  

    Well, that’s how it’s been lately with people asking if Ben and I plan on having kids.  

    Literally ONE person asks us, and then all of the sudden, another person asks us, then another (My favorite one came from a very drunk girl at the bar last night who said “Do you have kids?” and when we said “No” she quickly replied “DON’T. SERIOUSLY DON’T.” Ha.) and then my sister is sending me tumblrs about “Pregnant Dads” and then suddenly I’m seeing PREGNANT WOMEN EVERYWHERE.

    The answer is a solid NO. 

    Now, I have nothing against pregnancy (unless it’s your 14th pregnancy or something, ish) or kids, (as long as they’re not the by-product of horrible parents.) But Ben and I are ridiculously impulsive and adding a kid into the mix is just unfair to all parties involved.

     

    The best piece of advice about choosing to have/not have kids that I have ever gotten, came from my lovely Mother-in-Law.  And it goes as follows:

    “If you decide to have kids, they are the GREATEST thing(s) to ever happen to you.  If you decide to NEVER have kids, your spouse is the GREATEST thing to ever happen to you.” 

    I don’t feel like if I never had kids that I would be missing out on anything in particular either.  I didn’t get married because I HAD TO GET MARRIED to fill a weird void in my life (which is kind of what seems like is more common nowadays), so I don’t feel obligated to have kids either.  And it’s strange, because I come from a large family.  Nature would say that I’d want to pop babies out to crate my own farmhands, but that’s not so, especially in this world we live in. 

     

    So that’s my two cents on that, and if another person asks if we’re going to have kids, I’m just going to laugh. 

     

    M

Comments (2)

  • What an interesting piece of wisdom from your mother-in-law.

    Glad you’re making your own decision about this instead of feeling pressured into it. Seems like especially elderly people just expect everyone to have them.

  • I still think you would make a cool mom, so don’t discount the idea entirely. The day may come when you guys decide otherwise.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *